Ceuta the Spanish seized control in 1580. From

Ceuta is a Spanish enclave situated in North Africa, delineated by Morocco and lies toward the completion of a confined isthmus. It is represented as a major aspect of Cadiz area in Spain.

Both Ceuta and Melilla have a broadened history. The two communities date their unique establishment to the mariners and dealers of the old Mediterranean and the Phoenicians. Years later, Ceuta developed to end up plainly the site of a Carthaginian settlement, which in the end, was assumed control by the Romans. The city was then caught by the Vandals, who eventually lost it to the Byzantium amid the fifth century. As the years passed, Ceuta had been managed by the Visigoths, Arabs, Portuguese, until the point that the Spanish seized control in 1580. From that point forward, Ceuta has remained a purview of Spain, except for a time period from 1694 to 1720 when the Moors gained control.

Ceuta and Melilla have been considered Spanish exclaves for the past five hundred years; however, they have never held colonial status under Spanish law. They were two of the fortified military settlements that Portugal and Spain conquered on the North African coast in the 15th and 16th centuries to fight piracy. Both cities predate African colonization by European powers and the Spanish protectorate over Northern Morocco. This protectorate was ended in 1956 after Morocco successfully fought a war of independence against France. Surely, most of Morocco was under the French protectorate, so when it was terminated, Spain had no influence or real power to continue its own protectorate.

After Morocco gained independence, it laid claim against the Spanish possessions that included Ceuta, Melilla and dependent positions such as the Penon de Velez de la Gomera, Penon



de Alhucemas and the Chafarinas Islands. These are still under Spanish sovereignty, populated by Spanish nationals and under the Spanish law which makes them an integral part of Spain.

            Spain claims these territories on historical grounds: right of success and terra nullius principles; longevity of occupation; national security and the UN territorial integrity of the state principle. Spain emphasizes that most of the inhabitants there are Spanish nationals and wish to stay under Spanish rule. Additionally, treaties were signed by Morocco and Spain in connection to the Sovereign Territories. Morocco contends that the UN standards of decolonization must be implemented because the Spanish occupation blocks the financial and political autonomy of the kingdom as the Spanish bases debilitate Moroccan national security.   


Definition of Key Terms



Is a peninsula which narrows to an isthmus before broadening into the

Almina peninsula which is a military zone; the civilian settlement is concentrated on

The isthmus and western part of the peninsula. There are 20 km of sea coast and 8 km of

land boundaries.


            A territory that was conquered by Spain in 1497. Because of its location on the Mediterranean coast and offering access to the Rif mountain region, it had to be defended from attack by land and sea. Until the 19th century, one of its major roles was that of a penal colony then it became a free-port in 1902 and an important military base.








Sovereign territories

            An independent state that is governed by an absolute and uncontrollable power and from which all specific political powers are derived; the intentional independence of a state, combined with the right and power of regulating its internal affairs without foreign interference.


            A state that is controlled and protected by another.


Terra Nullius Principle

            It is derived from a Latin expression meaning “nobody’s land”. It is a principle that is sometimes used in international law to describe territory that may be acquired by a state’s occupation of it.

UN standards of decolonization

            The General Assembly declared the first International Decade for the Eradication of Colonialism in 1990 that included a specific plan of action.



Background Information

Spanish colonization                                                                                                     

            After being colonized time and time again by the Carthaginians, Greeks, and Romans, Ceuta and Melilla became independent under the Byzantine ruler Count Julian. They contained commercial importance such as gold and ivory, and so, they were always disputed upon until 1415, when Portugal gained control. The port passed to Spain in 1580 the Treaty of Lisbon in 1688. At the breakout of the Spanish Civil War that took place in 1936, Gen. Francisco Franco executed an expedition from Ceuta to Spain. In 1995 the Spanish government endorsed statutes of self-rule for Ceuta, supplanting the city council with an assembly like those of Spain’s different independent communities




Moroccan independence

            Morocco was occupied by Berbers who were led by Rome before the arrival of the Arabs. In 681, the Arabs carried with them another dialect and another religion, Islam. The Muslim troops trusted that there was no more land to overcome past Morocco’s Atlantic drift, so they began to spread Islam all through Sub-Saharan Africa and Europe. Be that as it may, under the authority of Tarik Ibn Ziyad, Muslims crossed the Strait of Gibraltar and vanquished Spain and Portugal. They were halted in the south of France in a city called Poitier.

            Moulay Idriss made the Idriss Dynasty and the principal Muslim State in the west amid the year 788. From that point forward, the nation has been managed by a few different dynasties, for example, The Almoravids, The Almohads, The Merinides, and the Saadians. In 1660, the Alaouite Dynasty prevailed with regards to keeping out intruders. Therefore, numerous beachfront urban communities like Tangier, El Jadida, and Essaouira were possessed by European forces, mainly Spain and Portugal.

            Spain possessed the North and the South of Morocco, while it was under the French protectorate in 1912. After World War I, Tangier turned into an International Zone that was possessed by more than 20 Western nations.

            In 1956, Morocco finally gained its Independence. In 1975, The Saharan provinces returned to Morocco after the “Green March” under the Spanish control. In spite of the independence of Morocco, the two cities Ceuta and Melilla in Northern Morocco are still administered by Spain.


Major Countries and Organizations Involved


            Morocco argues that Ceuta and are remnants of Spain’s colonial past and should be ceded to Morocco. Most of the Moroccan arguments rely on the similarities between Ceuta, Melilla, and Gibraltar. The argument that they hold is that the Spanish claim to Gibraltar is similar to the Moroccan claim to Ceuta and Melilla.


             It is a Spanish exclave, military post, and free port on the coast of Morocco. Even though it



is touching the borders of Morocco, Ceuta is considered an autonomous country managed by Spanish authorities.


            The Spanish authorities claim to the two territories of Ceuta and Melilla go back to 1497. Spain believes that Ceuta and Melilla should be under their rule as most of the citizens wish for it to be that way. The Spanish authorities believe that the Moroccan government will not be able to maintain the infrastructure and services that Ceuta and Melilla require.


            NHCR has expressed concerns to the Spanish authorities about the extremely poor conditions in which refugees are living in. they have urged the government to utilize more resources to improve the situation. They believe that conditions fall well short of the minimum standards required by the recent EU directive on reception standards, which must be transferred into Spanish law.